Luxury, Comfort and Fantasy: My Take on the 2012 Vancouver International Auto Show

Lexus LFA Concept Car Front-Side View

Before I start diving into my experiences at the 2012 Vancouver International Auto Show, I have a confession to make. I am not, nor have I ever been a gearhead or a huge car enthusiast. In fact, save for a few times my cousin and I pawed through her older brother’s Road & Track magazines as kids and daydreamed about our fantasy cars, I hadn’t paid much attention to the latest car trends for years.

However, with the 2012 International Auto Show in town while I was home for Easter, I felt like it was the perfect opportunity to re-educate myself on what was going on in the world of automobiles. And maybe I would even be one of the first people I knew to see some exclusive limited edition cars!

Walking in through the front entrance and into the outer concourse at the renovated BC Place Stadium, I couldn’t believe the amount of people coming into the auto show. The show had already been going strong for at least five days by that time, but there were still a ton of people just like us wanting to see all the cars!
Without further ado, here’s some of the highlights for me at the 2012 Vancouver International Auto Show.

Fuel Efficient Cars

The very first display of cars was the new fuel efficient cars from several well-known and dependable car brands as well as a few luxury car brands as well. I was definitely surprised to see some luxury brands come out with fuel efficient cars. Among the fuel efficient cars that caught my eye was the electric sports car driven by the owner of Sun Country Farms, the 2012 Fisker Karma and the most surprising one of all, the Ferrari 458 Italia.

Seeing luxury cars break into the fuel efficient market definitely speaks to how important fuel efficiency has become, even in the luxury car market. Here’s hoping there will more to come in the fuel efficient segment of the automobile market!

Luxury Cars

2013 Lotus Evora

(Note: I may not have the 100% accurate make and model of each luxury car, I had check on many of them via the dealership websites and chose the ones that looked the most like the ones I snapped photos of. So if you notice any mistakes on the makes and models, don’t hesitate to let me know)

Though I’m still waiting for the upcoming Acura NSX to be displayed, it won’t be ready until 2015, thanks to custom retrofitting that Acura needs to do for their factory, I wasn’t disappointed by the other luxury cars that I saw.

My two top favourites would definitely be the limited edition 2013 Jaguar XKR-S Coupe, done in a stunning blue shade and the Lexus LFA Concept Car. Both cars were listed at more than $165,000. I suppose I can keep dreaming….

Next in line for me were two vehicles by Audi; the R8 V10 and the 2013 S5 Coupe, both listed at nearly $60,000. While these are definitely more in my price range, I think I’d still rather save up more money than break the bank. I also definitely appreciated the presence of the Camaro and the Corvette, with the Corvette Stingray Concept car being the most futuristic looking out of the entire group.

Cars I’d heard of for the First Time at the Auto Show

Intermeccanica Roadster

Top of this list would definitely be the custom Intermeccanica Roadster followed closely by the Subaru BRZ. I hadn’t heard of either one of those cars before the auto show, though I’m very familiar with Subaru as a brand. Fisker is another car brand that I’d add to this list as I have never seen a car off of that brand on the streets of Vancouver or Victoria.

Final Thoughts

I won’t spoil the show anymore for you than I already have and leave my photos of the vehicles to speak for themselves. However, there were a few other surprises based on the cars I tried sitting in. The Scion iQ surprisingly has more room than I thought it would, while the floor model of the Nissan Versa hatchback that I tried out actually had a more old-school looking console for the radio and climate control. And, for those of you interested in a Mini Cooper, the convertible model definitely is more roomy than I ever thought it would be.

-Lilian

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

