3 Course Meal with 5 Stars Part 2: Dining at Fire & Water Fish and Chophouse

Roasted Tomato & Bell Pepper Terrine

Having gone into Fire & Water Fish and Chophouse at the Marriott Inner Harbour hotel on New Year’s Eve this past year to enjoy a few drinks; which turned out to be a positive experience; I wanted to return to try out the food.

We picked a random weeknight, thinking that it wouldn’t be too busy. Sure enough, there were enough tables open on a Wednesday night and we had been seated and given our drinks without any waiting.

For an appetizer, I decided to try the roasted tomato and bell pepper terrine for something different. It was a bit of a shock as I didn’t expect the terrine to be cold, but the tomatoes and bell peppers were roasted to perfection and very sweet and soft, so the taste and texture more than made up for the temperature.

My partner, being a meat and potatoes fan, ordered the braised short rib as an appetizer and he loved how tender and juicy the meat was. According to him, it was definitely one of the pieces of beef short rib that he’d ever eaten.

For my main course, I decided to try the honey and soy glazed salmon, which came with barley ‘risotto’ and baby spinach. The miso emulsion made it seem as though I had soup accompanying my main course, which only added to the depth of flavour.

My partner stuck with his craving for beef for the evening by ordering the Moroccan spiced centre cut striploin. He was happy to discover that not only was the steak tender and correctly seasoned, but that the mashed potatoes didn’t disappoint either, unlike some other restaurants we had eaten at recently.

For dessert, I decided to try the pairing of white and dark chocolate mousse which was smooth and creamy as well as filling. Due to his love for nearly everything apple, my partner ordered the crispy apple cheesecake, which he said was absolutely delicious.

If you’re looking for a more romantic restaurant with a quiet atmosphere, why not give Fire & Water Fish and Chophouse a try? Don’t let the fact that it’s a hotel restaurant deter you, the food  will not disappoint.

-Lilian

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

