The Inside Look at a Luxury Property-From a Local’s Perspective (Part Three: Tigh-Na-Mara Resort & Spa)

(A/N: Although I experienced Tigh-Na-Mara approximately a year ago now, I wanted to add it to the collection as it’s still a great resort on the island and it’s an experience that needs to be shared)

My partner and I had decided to use our Air Miles for a mini-vacation with an oceanview cabin as well as for a dip in

Oceanview Room

Tigh-Na-Mara’s famous Grotto mineral pool. My mini-vacation last April up island to Tigh-Na-Mara was the first time I’d ever stayed inside a luxury cabin. Well, the first time I’d stayed in a luxury cabin attached to a resort and spa, that is.

Oceanview Cabin

The cabin was both luxurious and rustic, if there ever was such a thing. All the furniture, the full kitchen’s cabinetry and the walls were all made of rustic planks of wood, as close as you could get to an actual tree. The gas fireplace was great when the wind blew up later that night and a balcony with a gorgeous view of the beach and the ocean completed the luxury in the main room.

Our bedroom had a spacious queen-sized bed and just a small window, looking out on the resort grounds and the bathroom was spacious and just the perfect complement to the rest of our suite.

We added a treatment in the hydrotherapy tub to our dip in the Grotto Pool and it was the perfect way to relax at the

Grotto Pool

spa. The minerals within the Grotto Pool cured the slight cough I had and the man-made waterfalls in the pool gave it a luxurious yet whimsical feel. The hydrotherapy tub was the most luxurious soak I’d ever had. Picture the deepest tub you’ve ever been in, with over ten jets giving you an amazing massage and the warmest water ever, heated enough so that it stayed warm for the entire half hour.  It relaxed all the tension and stress out of my shoulders and my back, with the help of some of the minerals in the water and is easily the crowning glory of Tigh-Na-Mara, one that I’ve never experienced anywhere else. Running a close second, however, was the Relaxation Lounge and Treetop Tapas & Grill restaurant.

Relaxation Lounge

The Relaxation Lounge was the first spa lounge I’d ever been to where you could indulge in free coffee, tea, fruit and other snacks-all while reading magazines wearing a bathrobe and slippers. What’s more, the Treetop Tapas and Grill had an amazing tapas menu and an even better drink menu. Our waiter recommended I add mango to my pina colada and it turned out to be the most delicious tropical drink I’d ever had.

We ended our time there with drinks that night at the Copper Lounge and then their

Treetop Tapas & Grill

amazing buffet breakfast the next morning. Tigh-Na-Mara is an amazing resort, steps above others I’ve been to since, because of its tapas and hydrotherapy tub treatment. Next time I go back, I’d love to be able to experience a couples’ treatment package completed with the two-person Jacuzzi tub.

