The Revitalization of In Retrospect

Years ago, I created this blog primarily as an extension of my portfolio, a platform in which I could freely discuss everyday topics in relation to the advertising industry and at times; how current events (ie. the Presidential race of 2008) impacted, informed and shaped how the general public received and engaged in everyday communication. Moreover, In Retrospect as a blog was also about the connections we make with each other are often thought to be of simple necessity, with little or no regard paid to the actual implications & perceptions of how we communicate.  

For example, how much time do any of us really spend thinking about why and how certain forms of communications work in a given situation? What about the artistic value that’s hidden within different forms of communication?  An example from my past comes to mind, where a customer who spoke heavily accented English became incredibly frustrated and angry when I had trouble understanding his words and claimed I had wasted his time. And yet, less than two minutes later, a gentleman who was deaf managed to let me know what he was looking for within 5 minutes and ten minutes later, left satisfied and happy.  In such a scenario, how much time do we spend, if any at all, thinking about how someone who has the ability of speech could communicate so poorly and yet someone who has not the ability to speak nor hear can still get his point across? Why is it that one form of communication worked in that scenario and yet another didn’t?

With In Retrospect, I also questioned how much society pays attention to the innate artistic value within communication. Years ago, I was riding public transit on the way home and spotted two young male teens, friends who were on their respective cell phones, texting back and forth. To my surprise, in spite of the cell phones, both of the young men corresponded together on the train via sign language; they were both deaf. One may question why two deaf individuals needed a phone, but my perception of the entire scene had me wondering about the value of communication, how so many of us disregard and disrespect how much of a key role it plays in our day to day lives. And yet, here were two individuals from a demographic that traditionally is known for disrespecting each other verbally and otherwise and not recognizing the repercussions of negative forms of communication and they were able to successfully communicate and forge a connection through a form of communication other than speech, artistically beautiful in its intricacy.

Eventually, I felt that certain topics and the inspiration behind In Retrospect had faded for me; indeed, several events after the last entry deeply affected my ability to write and create topics and discussions of interest surrounding advertising and the importance of communication. In the years since the last entry, numerous attempts to revitalize the blog have encountered a writer’s block; an inability to discover a topic so compelling, so unique, that it spurred my creative muse again.

Today, as I compose my first blog post for In Retrospect in nearly two years, I can confidently say that the muse has returned home. A much-anticipated move coupled with connections established within a new network as well as growth in new personal interests, has given me new inspiration and indeed, new hope towards writing about topics and interests that I would have never believed I would write about years ago.

As I continue to re-vitalize and re-energize In Retrospect into more than what it used to be, I hope that you will continue to read, enjoy and express your opinions in regards to the topics in question. As In Retrospect has become more than the extension of my portfolio, it is now the arena in which I express my views and stretch the limitations of my creative muse. So, experience, enjoy and give your valuable comments freely as you will.

